Would you believe it if we told you that the members of Generation X, Millennials, and Generation Z are more likely to fall for online shopping scams than those aged 60 or over? Well, according to the Federal Trade Commission, the numbers aren’t even close. If you’re under age 60, you’re 86 percent more likely to fall prey to scammers. Read More
- Published: 12 Dec 2022
You might sometimes receive email notifications from LinkedIn telling you that someone has looked at your profile, and that’s fine and all until you realize that LinkedIn is telling other people that you’re looking at their profiles. For some, this can seem like a breach of privacy, so to rectify this, we’ll help you adjust your settings so that you won’t feel so intruded on.
How to Adjust Your Privacy Settings for LinkedIn
First, you’ll want to get to LinkedIn’s website by clicking on this link here. You must then click on your profile icon in the top bar, right in the right corner of the screen. You’ll see an option for Settings & Privacy.
In the left column, you should see some options for Visibility. From here, select Profile Viewing Options.
Selecting Private Mode will show you other options, including some that can help you adjust your level of privacy. The first one worth mentioning is Someone At [Insert Workplace Here], which will tell people where you work, but not who you are; the other is completely anonymous and private. Depending on what you are comfortable with, you can adjust your settings accordingly.
Of course, no matter what you do, people will know that someone has viewed their profile. All you have control over is what that looks like to them. If you would prefer your company’s name to not appear, like when you’re researching competitors, then you can go with the latter option, and vice versa.
The other big thing to note here is that when you appear private to others, they will appear private to you, so there is no hiding your identity without hiding the identity of others who view your profile. Just something to keep in mind as you decide your privacy preferences here.
Privacy can be tricky to manage on your social media and networking accounts, as you don’t want to share too much or too little information, but when strangers can see what you are doing, you should always err on the side of caution. You have no real way of knowing who is actually operating that account, so just be careful out there.
What kind of tricks do you want to see us cover in future blogs? You can let us know and we’ll do our best to include them in future tip articles.